The CoB Advisory Council Awards are prestigious annual awards granted to CoB faculty and staff with outstanding performance in teaching, research and service. The awards are sponsored by the businesses of five members of CoB Advisory Board.g Below table shows the awards, sponsors and the winners.


Type of Award                                  Sponsor                         Winner
Outstanding Research                     Shell Saud Arabia       Dr. Rahma Lahyani
Outstanding UG Teaching              KPMG Saudi Arabia    Dr. Thomas Aichner
Outstanding Graduate teaching   Alfaisaliah Group         Dr. Abdulaziz Alwathnani
Outstanding Service Faculty          Amwal Alkhaleej         Dr. Hayfaa Tlaiss
Outstanding Service Staff               Aljazira Bank                Ms. Moneerah Ben-Teni


The winners are selected by CoB Ad-Hoc committee consisting of five staff and faculty members. The committee goes into a thorough process that specifies the rules of the competition and selection. Each awardee receives a certificate, a trophy and a check for  5000 SAR. Below is a brief on each of the five awards/winners.

Outstanding Research Award

Dr Rahma Lahyani

For producing high quality research published in top tier journals and as a leading author.

Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award

Dr. Thomas Aichner

For using innovative teaching methods such as gamification, sales promotion traps, service management simulations, working with a real client. Dr. Thomas received excellent student feedback for his quality work.

Outstanding MBA Teaching Award

Dr. Abdulaziz Alwathnani

For redesigning a challenging accounting subject in the MBA program and introducing a user-based approach to deliver the subject as opposed to traditional preparer-based approach. This promoted active learning and attracted excellent ratings from students.

Outstanding Service Award (for Faculty)

Dr Hayfaa A.Tlaiss

For outstanding leadership and initiatives, mentoring new colleagues, connecting students to professional organizations, service to the profession, and for internationally recognized scholarly work under Alfaisal affiliation.

Outstanding Service Award (for Staff)

Ms. Moneerah Mutlaq Bin Tani

For demonstrating professional excellence, going beyond the call of duty, active engagement and being a good citizen.

The Ad-Hoc Award Committee consisted of:

 Dr. Hayat Khan, Chair,

Ms. Alanoud Alenizi

Dr. Hayfaa Tlaiss, Member

Dr. Mario Ferrer, Member

Dr. Saad Alhoqail, Member


Dr. Bajis Dodin, Dean of College of Business stated ‘’The work of the committee has been open, systematic and very much objective. I hope its process will guide us all in what other committees do’’